Free Shipping in Canada over $149!*   All prices are in CAD 

Coste: Selected Works for Guitar

This item is currently out of stock but is available for purchase. Once your order has been placed, you will be contacted with an expected delivery date.
Price: $22.95

Classical guitarists---both students and professional performers---require the same high-quality editions that their pianist colleagues have come to expect from Alfred Music. Our Classical Guitar Masterworks Editions continue the Alfred Music tradition of providing carefully edited, beautifully presented music for practice and performance.

French guitarist and composer Napoléon Coste's best-loved concert works have been expertly collected here. In this edition, editor and acclaimed classical guitarist Jeffrey McFadden, a leading proponent of Coste's repertoire, looks between the lines to see exactly what the composer intended, ultimately making Coste's intentions explicit and clear for the modern performer. Coste was a great melodist who had full command of the rich harmonic palate of the mid-to-late 19th century. Perhaps most importantly, Coste had a powerful guitaristic intuition and a deep understanding of the guitar fretboard, which he used with great creativity in crafting concert music. This performance edition of Coste's works aims to provide the performer with fully fingered, easy-to-read scores, demonstrating not only how charming these pieces are for audiences but also how enjoyable they are to play for the accomplished guitarist!

Table of Contents:
  • Life and Works
  • Technical and Style Notes
  • Notes on the Pieces
  • A Note from the Publisher
  • Divertissement sur Lucia di Lammermoor, Op. 9
  • Rondeau de Concert, Op. 12
  • Le Départ: Fantasie dramatique, Op. 31
  • Les Soirées d'Auteuil, Op. 23
  • Deuxième Polonaise, Op. 14
  • Fantaisie sur deux motifs de La Norma, Op. 16
  • La Cachucha, Op. 13
  • Les Cloches, Op. 21
  • Andante et Menuet, Op. 39
  • Souvenir de Jura: Andante et Polonaise, Op. 44
  • La Source du Lyson: Fantaisie, Op. 47

Catalog: AL44460
Publisher: Alfred
Composer: Coste
Pages: {{ATTR_PAGES}}
SKU:  ae00-9088^AL44460
Manufacturer Part #:  AL44460

Customer Reviews

(0.00)stars out of 5
# of Ratings: 0

Why Tapestry Music?

Tapestry Music has been a BC family owned business since 1996.  With 3 locations in White Rock, Vancouver and Victoria, Tapestry offers in store & online shopping, music lessons and repair services. As a music education specialist, Tapestry is respected and recommended by music educators across Canada.

Best Price


Tapestry will match the selling price of any identical product from any Canadian retailer that has that item in-stock, up until 30 days after purchase.


On overs $149

We don't charge shipping or handling on orders over $149 (before tax and shipping calculation). There are a few reasonable exceptions like very large or heavy items as well as shipping to remote areas.



Exchange or return for full refund items purchased within 30 days if in unused new condition and in original packaging.